What is Decision Tree and What are the Types?

  1. Categorical Variable Decision Tree: Decision Tree which has a categorical target variable then it called a Categorical variable decision tree.
  2. Continuous Variable Decision Tree: Decision Tree has a continuous target variable then it is called Continuous Variable Decision Tree.
  1. Root Node: It represents the entire population or sample and this further gets divided into two or more homogeneous sets.
  2. Splitting: It is a process of dividing a node into two or more sub-nodes.
  3. Decision Node: When a sub-node splits into further sub-nodes, then it is called the decision node.
  4. Leaf / Terminal Node: Nodes do not split is called Leaf or Terminal node.
  5. Pruning: When we remove sub-nodes of a decision node, this process is called pruning. You can say the opposite process of splitting.
  6. Branch / Sub-Tree: A subsection of the entire tree is called branch or sub-tree.
  7. Parent and Child Node: A node, which is divided into sub-nodes is called a parent node of sub-nodes whereas sub-nodes are the child of a parent node.




Love podcasts or audiobooks? Learn on the go with our new app.

Recommended from Medium

MATLAB Benchmark Code for WiDS Datathon 2020

Best Github Repositories for Data Scientist

Bioconductor’s readImage() vs CRAN’s load.image()

3 reasons to try ML as Service before you hire your first data scientist

Modelling Housing Prices With Linear Regression

Real-time Artwork Generation using Deep Learning

Attention layer —Continued from: Reference for dimensions and numbers used in a seq2seq model for…

Medical image clustering for risk stratification

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Anupama Singh

Anupama Singh

More from Medium

Machine Learning

Decision Tree Algorithm

Machine learning

K-Nearest Neighbors Classification